Sweet Completion

After my last post on the madeleine pan, I knew I wouldn’t be able to hold out on making these beautiful tea cakes for long.  I don’t know that I’ve ever loved the look of a cookie/cake more than when I popped these beauties out of the pan and reveled in the unique seashell shape that they were.  Too pretty to eat!

These truly were so simple to make!  Such an easy recipe, with simple ingredients.  The cake batter is a fairly typical genoise cake batter that comes out as light sponge cake once they are done baking.

One note of advice if you should decide to make these: be sure to follow the direction of buttering and flouring your pan thoroughly.  I figured these may be a bit of a struggle to get out if I didn’t, so I was pretty careful to do this, and they came out much easier!

In about an hour I was sitting in my kitchen with the sweet smell of butter, and a hint of lemon and vanilla taking me back to my time spent in France.  What bliss!  It was then that these words permeated my heart…sweet completion.  It started as the most simple of ingredients, and its completion was exquisite.

These delights are most often enjoyed with a cup of hot tea.  Since I know nobody who enjoys tea more than my lovely sister, I packaged them up and shipped them right on out.  Thinking of her enjoying sweet time with a cup of tea and one of these brings much joy to my heart!

While there are several variations to the kind of madeleines you can make, the most basic of recipes doesn’t vary much from one to another.  I actually pulled mine from online, but as I looked at several of them, they were all so similar to each other.  Use this one, or find another that you like, and enjoy!

Madeleines

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter

2 Tbsp. softened unsalted butter (for greasing pan)

3/4 cups flour

4 large eggs

a pinch of fine-grain sea salt

2/3 cup sugar

zest of one large lemon

1 tsp vanilla

powdered sugar (for dusting)

Makes 2-3 dozen regular madeleines

Preheat oven to 350.

  1. Melt the 1 1/2 sticks butter in a small pot over medium heat until it’s brown and gives off a deliciously nutty aroma, roughly 20 minutes.  Strain (using a paper towel over a mesh strainer)-you want to leave the solids behind.  Cool the butter to room temperature.  By doing the butter first you can complete the rest of the steps while it is cooling.
  2. While the melted butter is cooling, use the remaining 2 Tbsp of butter to grease the madeleine molds, making sure to get all of the ridges.  Dust with flour and invert the pan tapping out any excess flour.
  3. Put the eggs with the salt in the bowl of an electric mixer with a whisk attachment.  Whip on high speed until thick-you are looking for the eggs to roughly double or triple in volume-approximately 3 minutes.  Continuing to mix on high speed, slowly add the sugar in a steady stream.  Whip for 2 minutes or until mixture is thick and ribbony.  Now with a spatula fold in the lemon zest and vanilla (just until mixed).
  4. Sprinkle the flour on top of the egg batter, and gently fold in.  Now fold in the butter mixture, only stirring enough to bring everything together.
  5. Spoon the batter into the molds, filling each mold 2/3-3/4 full.
  6. Bake the madeleines for 12-14 minutes (7-10 for smaller cookies), or until the edges of the madeleines are golden brown.  Remove from oven and unmold immediately.  Cool on racks and dust with powdered sugar.
3 thoughts on “Sweet Completion

  1. Sarah says:

    I got them in the mail today. I can’t wait to try one this afternoon with my tea. If only I had some of that Paris tea left! But that’s ok, I have many other kinds that will be delicious. You’re the best!

  2. bolovesjoe says:

    Oh, I have ALWAYS wanted to make these. It’s good to hear that they’re not impossible…I like to bake but I’m not always successful, especially at de-panning cakes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

