Superfudge!

Oh to relive the days of Freckle Juice, Sheila the Great, Tootsie, Peter and Fudge.  I’m fairly certain these characters have stood the test of time and are still being enjoyed by kids today, but even if they aren’t, they are a permanent fixture among my childhood memories.

These are all characters from some of Judy Blume’s most famous books.  One of my favorites has always been Fudge, who is an annoying little brother with an increased vocabulary.  I’m pretty sure I identified with the annoying younger sibling role, but the increased vocabulary, hands down, belonged to my lovely sister.  She’s the smart one. Like ridiculously smart.  Like the kind of smart where your stocking is full of mechanical pencils, a new calculator, maybe a protractor, and a book of Sudoku puzzles.  And I love her like crazy!  But I think it’s safe to say that I played the part of the annoying little sister pretty well.  I’m so glad we’re grown and LOVE being around each other now!

The story is presumably set in 1978, the year Superman debuted in film, and this film becomes a major topic in the storyline as Fudge convinces himself he was born on Krypton and can become like Superman…hence, Superfudge!  And all this to say, anytime I eat, make, or buy fudge, I think of this childhood classic.

I have to be honest about my history with this classic candy.  It is one of my favorite candies to consume.  But for all of the things I CAN make, I have never had a pan of fudge turn out.  Never.  Too grainy, never set up, hard as a rock…you name it, I’ve ruined it.  My friend Billie gave me her recipe for “No Fail Microwave Peanut Butter Fudge” last Christmas, which truly is a piece of heaven in your mouth.  I was pretty certain I could make this one work.  Not only did it have the words “no-fail” in the recipe, but it was made in the microwave.  This recipe was invented for people who don’t know what they’re doing when it comes to making fudge.  My thought to myself…I’m golden!  I’ve got this in the bag!  Let’s just say the recipe should be renamed “No Fail Unless You Are A Complete Idiot Peanut Butter Fudge”.  Seriously.  What a disappointment.  What’s wrong with me?!  I determined to never try it again…until last week.

I found a recipe about a month ago for lemon fudge.  I kept it despite my track record with the candy, and when I was going through recipes to find a few more things to make with my fresh lemons, this one called my name.  I had to give it a try.  I was prepared for discouragement.  I was expecting failure.  I was anticipating the worst.  I had braced myself for defeat.  And what I got was a pan of deliciousness that made my heart smile for summer!

I was so happy to package this delectable treat up for three wonderful people!  The first went to my dear friend Lynne who loves all things lemon.  I knew she would be excited to try this one out!  The second went to one of my closest friends, A’Leah.  She is someone I am thankful to walk through rough seasons of life with, and sometimes when nothing seems to be going right, a piece of candy is exactly what makes everything seem better.  And the third box went to Aaron’s cohort leader at George Fox.  She has been a huge advocate for him through the entire program, but in the last few weeks as job prospects are looming on the horizon, she has gone above and beyond to help him finish strong.  My favorite part about baking something is giving it away!

Happiness is lemon fudge!

7 thoughts on “Superfudge!

  1. Sarah says:

    Talk about advanced vocabulary. You are am AMAZING writer!! And I’m not just sayin’ that. The things you write put me EXACTLY where you are. I can feel your feelings, I can smell your kitchen, and I can hear your voice. That’s good writing. And on top of that, you bake. And might I remind you ONCE AGAIN, YOU were the one who always had straight A’s. Not me 🙂 I big fat love you like I’m big fat crazy.

  2. Connie Brotzman says:

    I love lemon and this fudge is going to be a “must do” for me!

    Annie, I agree with Sarah about your writing technique You need to do a cookbook! Brilliant!

    Love ,

    C

Leave a Reply

