A Sugar-Coated Sunday

This past weekend I had the opportunity to bake desserts for Mountain View High School’s DECA fundraiser.  I always get really excited for events like this where I get to choose what I bake.  And I love when I get to package everything really creatively.  As I was baking I kept thinking back to the bake sales I was a part of growing up.  Nearly burnt chocolate chip cookies, overly done banana bread, ugly looking pies, and boring cakes made in a 9 x 13 pan.  Everything was always on styrofoam plates with saran wrap clung to it, making it all the more unappetizing.

Yep.  That’s pretty much what it looked like.  Although I’m pretty sure prices were always written on masking tape.  And you could ALWAYS find a good bake sale at the fair.  Without fail.  I have no idea what most of the stuff tasted like.  We never bought anything at bake sales because I was blessed with a mama that is one of the best bakers I know.  However, I can’t help but wonder if things were packaged a little better, that more kids could have gone on the missions trip, or to state convention for a school program, or whatever else funds were being raised for.  I mean, the taste is what counts, but the look is what sells.  I was hoping my items would be slightly more appealing. 🙂

On the menu for the fundraiser was a mixture of some of my favorite things to make.  The day was overcast and rainy…perfect conditions for baking!  My house smelled delightfully of toasted coconut, chocolate, bread, coffee, butter, cinnamon and peaches, all things that bring a smile to my face and joy to my heart!

The making of chocolate babka

Lattice top of one of the peach pies

Making peanut butter sandwich cookies

Cinnamon Rolls hot out of the oven!

It was a long day!  16 hours to be exact.  But 2 peach pies, a dozen peanut butter sandwich cookies, 2 dozen mocha cupcakes, one coconut cream pie, one pound of lemon fudge, one dozen chocolate dipped coconut macaroons, 2 loaves of chocolate babka, 2 dozen chocolate chip cookies, and a dozen cinnamon rolls later…I was done.  And so pleased.  It was a sugar-coated Sunday.

3 thoughts on “A Sugar-Coated Sunday

  1. Connie Brotzman says:

    You are killing me. Seriously awesome! I am salivating!

    (PS: Why is there not flour and sugar and egg shells flying all around?)

  2. Sarah says:

    I have never seen ANYthing as cute as that picture of you with the pan of cinnamon rolls. I have a big fat heart that big fat loves you.

  3. Diane says:

    Okay, I know the chocolate babka was to die for, but those cinnamon rolls look unbelievably delish! Beautiful baked goodness by a beautiful girl.

Leave a Reply

