Be Aggressive! B-E Aggressive!

What do you do to a tiger you meet?

You get down on your knees, you can’t pray on your feet!

You ask that mighty tiger for his mercy to give…

And maybe, just maybe…he’ll let you live!

Some might say that with a rad mom like this…

…I was destined to be a cheerleader myself.  And it appears that I started at a VERY early age.

Just kidding.  I was not happily cheering on my sister as she rode her super cool bike.  I was most definitely the maddest little girl on the planet at this moment as Sarah rode off with me in her dust.  But one thing is certain from this picture.  I have myself a set of lungs that really needed to be used constructively, and cheerleading was a great fit.  That stated, if you knew me around years 13-15, you would have been shocked to find that I was at all interested in being a cheerleader.  I was shy, quiet, reserved…let’s face it….I was pretty much a nerd.  I would post my freshman year picture on here, but it’s obnoxiously embarrassing, so I’ll spare myself the humiliation and let you imagine it.

I’m not certain why I thought cheerleading would be a good fit for me, but I tried out at the end of my freshman year of high school, made the varsity squad, and proceeded to make some of the best memories of my high school years.

I was a cheerleader for two years and gained great friends, lots of sports knowledge, a taste of competition, loads of confidence, 12 days without a voice from too much yelling, a healthy fear of being thrown in the air, a dad that cheered right along with us from the stands at nearly every game, a great understanding of car washing, a few dates, some pretty sweet moves, and really cool sparkly pom-poms.

It was by far one of the best decisions I’ve made in my life to date, because it brought me out of my shell and taught me how to be comfortable with who I am.  I loved it!

So when I had the opportunity to come in mid-way through this school year as the Mountain View High School varsity cheerleading coach, I was thrilled.  It was difficult to come in mid-year, following a very rough situation from the previous coach, but it was fun!  The girls finished strong, supporting the varsity basketball team all the way to the state final!  I put on a banquet this past week to celebrate their accomplishments, and it ended up being one of the sweetest memories for me.

Riley, Monica, Sandra, Rachel, Sasha, Raegan, Kaitlyn, Amanda, Montana, Kate, Katie, Brooke, Shawna, Angel, Monique, Johanna, and Kaylee put a smile on my face more times than I can count these past few months, and I feel blessed to have been a part of their cheerleading experience this year.  I made these kick butt cupcakes for them!

Chocolate cupcakes, sweet buttercream, and red and black sugar sprinkles.  Simple and sweet.  I cut out each individual “M” and “V” and it took a lifetime to do.  Bottom line?  Those girls are worth it.

*On a side note, I’ve been on cupcake overload for the past several weeks and I don’t want to make anymore until the wedding I’m doing in 4 weeks.  So if you’re as sick of reading about them as I am of making them, do not despair.  I will be seeking out other things to make until then!

4 thoughts on “Be Aggressive! B-E Aggressive!

  1. Laura Kristi says:

    Annie! I love this blog!! My fav to date! I love it when you combine your life with your passion for baking-incredible! Especially when it has to do with cupcakes 😉
    oh and btw — you WEREN’T a nerd, your freshman pic was BEAUTIFUL, and you WEREN’T quiet…but you did have a pretty rad mom and some sweet moves 😉
    LOVE YOU!

Leave a Reply

