“Frost yourself!”

Okay, I realize I said that I was taking a break from the cupcake baking world, but I can’t seem to get away from it.  It’s what people want, and I can’t say no!  But let’s get one very important thing straight before I start this post.  I don’t want to be known as the cupcake girl.  I want to be known as the girl that creates exceptional french pastry.  That said, these cupcakes were some of the most fun I have ever made!  I loved it!

A friend of mine was hosting a fun jewelry party tonight and I happened to run into her yesterday, prompting a conversation about the fact that she needed cupcakes to serve.  I was more than happy to oblige, immediately picturing them in my head, and I couldn’t wait to bring them to life!

When I think of jewelry, I immediately think of Tiffany & Co. This company was made wildly popular by people such as Marilyn Monroe in her song, “Diamonds Are a Girl’s Best Friend”, by James Bond in the movie, “Diamonds Are Forever,” and Audrey Hepburn in the classic, “Breakfast at Tiffany’s.”   Someday I hope to own a piece of their beautiful work!  In fact, if you really want to know what I’m pining after from my dear friends at Tiffany & Co., it’s right here.  This probably won’t be a reality in my lifetime, but a girl can dream.  Tiffany & Co. is known for their signature Tiffany blue box, which is a color that is just so easy to love.  So my thought was to try to replicate that beautiful blue on a chocolate cupcake.  And I have to admit that I think I got pretty darn close!  In addition to the frosting color, I wanted to make the cupcakes look like they were draped in jewels.  I covered them in radiantly sparkling white sprinkles, and small white pearls.  And when I was finished, those cupcakes were truly exquisite enough to wear.

Throughout my vision of jewel draped cupcakes, I kept remembering the movie, “How To Lose A Guy in 10 Days.”  Matthew McConaughey’s character, Benjamin Barry, has to create an ad campaign for a large diamond distributor, and his signature slogan became, “Frost Yourself”.  In the real world I actually think this would have been a good campaign.  Way to go Matt!  And in response to that he would say in his laid back smooth talking voice, “Alright, alright, alright.”

Diamonds really are a girl’s best friend.  I think what I love about them most is the fact that they don’t show all of their beauty as rough stones.  Rather, they must be cut and polished to show their characteristic brilliance that diamonds are known for.  It takes work to get them to the radiance that we have grown to love.  And that’s how I see myself.  A work in progress.  Continually growing, unceasingly changing, all in an effort to shine.  Frost yourself seems to be the most impeccable way to describe these alluring little bites of tempting sweetness.

5 thoughts on ““Frost yourself!”

  1. Mama says:

    You most assuredly, unmistakeably, achieved that exquisite little Tiffany’s box in these cupcakes. These. Are. Lovely! You’re an artist! Shine on, Chef!

  2. Connie Brotzman says:

    Annie:

    You are amazing!

    The only thing I would rather have in my house than one of those cupcakes is……….Mathew! Now that would be sweet!

    Love you bunches.

    C

  3. diane says:

    Those are THE most beautiful cupcakes I have ever seen! How do you think of these creations? You’re amazing, truly amazing. And you happened to whip these out….when?

  4. Aaron says:

    Wellll, these cupcakes look pretty darn great. And maybe someday I’ll be able to get you a Tiffany’s….box.

  5. Kelly K. says:

    You’ve outdone yourself yet again, Annie! I love these jewel cupcakes. They look beautiful. When you told me about them, I was thinking the same thing from the “How To Lose A Guy in 10 Days” movie. Frost yourself! Lol. You’re so talented. I enjoy looking at your creations.

Leave a Reply

