The surprises

Well, that’s the thing about life, is the surprises, the little things that sneak up on you and grab hold of you.

It’s wedding season.  And I really just have so many mixed feelings about the part I play during the wedding season.  I get nervous to work with brides.  I worry about not doing a good job.  I start wondering if I’m capable of some of the intricate design that you find in wedding cakes.  But on the other hand, I love the creative aspect of giving life to an idea that a bride might have.  I love the challenge of trying something new.  And most of all, I love the end result.  I love delivering a cake or cupcakes to a wedding reception site and seeing how much love, time, work, and thought has gone into what should be one of the happiest days of a person’s life.

I think the best thing I remember about my wedding day almost 8 years ago was the moment right before I walked out and realized just how blessed I was.  When I left my hometown of Sterling, Colorado in August of 1999, I walked into a new life, new friendships, new relationships, and I was surprised…by the best man I know…and love snuck up on me and grabbed hold of me.  And on September 7, 2002, I said “I do” to that wonderful surprise.

It’s impossible to not think about that every single time I get myself involved in someone’s special day by making their cake.  All of the anxiety that may come with it ends up being so worth it to see two people so incredibly happy and about to embark on the most wonderful surprise.  This weekend I made my first wedding cake of 2010 and was so thrilled with how it turned out!  The bride was amazing to work with, had exquisite taste, and allowed me to be creative!

She picked a small 6″ cake to have them cut into, and then ordered these adorable cupcakes!  It was a black and white wedding with a vintage theme robed in gorgeous lace, candles, and crystal chandeliers.  It’s so fun to create and design a cake and/or cupcakes for a wedding as breathtaking as this one was!

We as humans need love.  It makes us tick.  It teaches us appreciation.  It brings delight and devotion. Love gives us reason to admire and cherish.   And while there are so many ways to give love and be loved, marriage is one of my favorite expressions of such a powerful emotion!

10 thoughts on “The surprises

  1. Jo says:

    Lovely words, Annie! I think about that, too – when I photograph a wedding… about how blessed I am to be with the one I married! And THAT is an incredible gift! 🙂 Your words ring true…. and your edibles are adorable! 🙂

  2. Katie Scott says:

    Annie. I am booking you. No, I’m not getting married. No, I’m not even anywhere close. But I don’t care. You MUST make my wedding cake! So, consider yourself booked. And if I don’t get married in the next five years, well then i am just going to throw a party requiring lots of exquisite cake…and I’ll probably eat it all! 🙂

  3. Jayson says:

    Annie,

    You did a lovely job on our cake and cupcakes! It turned out awesome and everything we wanted! Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

