Traditions

I love traditions.

Familiarity.

Known.

I used to hate change.  And for the most part growing up I didn’t have to deal with very much change.  I lived in one house, never had to switch schools, and my parents kept things fairly consistent for me.  In fact, they didn’t move to a new house until after I left for college, and I still refer to the home I grew up in as our “real house.”  The consistency was probably a good thing considering when my parents finally decided to take the wood shingles off of our living room wall in an effort to make our home not so ugly, I cried.  A lot.  I know you must be thinking that I have that all wrong.  Wood shingles?  INSIDE a house?  That can’t be right.  And that’s exactly what the problem was.  It absolutely wasn’t right, so they had to come off.  I just couldn’t imagine my living room without them!  It was familiar to me.

I’ve come a long way from the little girl that cried over appalling cosmetic changes in my house.  Change quickly became a steadfast part of my life once I graduated from high school, and I’ve learned to embrace it well.  And yet, I LOVE things that I can count on.

1. Knowing that every Saturday morning you can find Aaron and I at our favorite coffee shop enjoying great coffee, good conversation, and the select few that have made this their tradition as well.

2. That every Christmas there will be several pairs of new cute patterned socks in my stocking from Aaron.

3. That each Fourth of July will be spent at Triangle Lake watching fireworks, eating good food, and laying in the sun with our best friends.

4. That at the start of every summer I will make a rhubarb custard pie.

This rhubarb pie is the mother load of all things rhubarb.  I consider myself a lover of rhubarb, and if you count yourself among the few that are this, you MUST add this recipe to your collection.  It’s a family recipe from my brother-in-law’s family, so I was first introduced to it about 6 years ago.  There’s just something about fresh rhubarb!  I love the day that you finally walk out to the plant with knife and shears in hand and cut it in preparation for so many things…strawberry rhubarb jam, rhubarb sauce, rhubarb cake…but the first delectable treat to be made is this rhubarb custard pie.  A perfect mix of tangy rhubarb and sweet custard.  Made only once a year, this pie is anticipated in the Schrader household at the start of every summer and will be for many years to come!

In times of uncertainty, it’s the little things like this that make me feel safe, normal, consistent, and stable.

Rhubarb Custard Pie

(Recipe courtesy of Karey Swan)

Make a double recipe of whatever pie crust you like to use.  I use gluten-free because you better believe I’m going to partake in this!

5 cups of 1/2 inch cut rhubarb

3 eggs

2 Tbsp flour

2 Tbsp tapioca

1/3 cup honey

1 cup sugar

1/2-1 tsp orange peel

pinch salt

  1. Roll out half of your pie dough and place in pie pan.  Place all rhubarb into the uncooked pastry.
  2. Mix all of the remaining ingredients together and pour over the rhubarb.
  3. Roll out the remaining pie dough and cover the top of the pie.  Scallop the edges of the pie and cut vents in the top to help release steam.   Sprinkle the top with cinnamon and sugar.
  4. Bake for 10 minutes at 400 degrees and then lower the temperature to 350 degrees and continue baking for another 45-60 minutes or until it is well-browned.
3 thoughts on “Traditions

  1. Mama says:

    Traditions are the best! I admit I’ve had to break with tradition more than once since moving to Texas. For instance, nobody here knows what Frog Eye Salad is and since we get invited to other people’s homes for various holidays, there is no BIG BOWL of Frog Eye Salad gracing my own holiday dinners. Oh well. Sometimes the change has to become the new tradition. By the way, remember how long it took you to get over us selling the Scout to buy the Hyndai?

  2. Connie Brotzman says:

    That pie looks wonderful Annie!

    My Mother made cucumber dip for every major holiday. When she couldn’t make it any longer it became my “obligation” to make the cumber dip. Forget the turkey on Thanksgiving….I better have the cumber dip! Now, I’ve made it down here and all of Chris’s friends are requesting cucumber dip… and not just for special occasions.

    You will make more of your own traditions as your life progresses but those memories of traditions you had as a child will be with you forever!

    Thanks for sharing this wonderful blog with us.

  3. Gail Gumpert says:

    Thanks for sharing Annie.. traditions are so Great!! the pie looks great..i may have to try and make one… Our tradition is Potato Salad.. It is an aunt’s receipe from France.. and I have finally mastered it..Now my daughters and their husbands are working on getting it just right..I love that !! we usually always have the first batch on the fourth of July?

Leave a Reply

