Brilliant Boston!

I’m fairly certain I was born in the wrong geographic location of the country.  But there’s really no surprise there.  I mean nobody really intends to be born in Sterling, Colorado.

It just happens.

And that’s okay.

Because if it hadn’t been my place of birth, I wouldn’t have so many of the most lovely people in the world in my life.

But let’s just pretend that I was born in the one city that I love (meaning I have never been there, but wish I could more than anything) from all the way across the country…Boston!

Boston is just one of those cities that is famous no matter how you spin it.  And here’s why.

  • It’s home of the first college ever.  Established in 1636, we continue to so wonderfully refer to it as Harvard College.
  • It’s rich in history with some of the  most famous battles recorded such as The Boston Massacre, The Battle of Lexington & Concord,and The Battle of Bunker Hill, as well as the famous midnight rides of Paul Revere, William Dawes, and Dr. Samuel Prescott.
  • The city threw some serious attitude in the 177os in what we refer to as The Boston Tea Party!  Talk about rebellion!  The British attempts to exert control on the 13 colonies, primarily by taxation, played the primary role in sparking both the American Revolution and the emanating American Revolutionary War.  This city threw a fit that would put a bratty toddler to shame by throwing three shiploads of taxed tea overboard.  Love this piece of history!
  • While I’m not sure the following has made the city famous, it’s just so worth mentioning because of the oddity that it is…The Boston Molasses Disaster.
  • Home of the Boston Red Sox.  Need I say much more?  Okay, I will. 🙂 The team was founded in 1901 and has been playing in their famous home ballpark, Fenway Park, since 1912.  They were the winners of the first ever World Series in1903 against the Pittsburgh Pirates and won 4 more championships by 1918.  However, the team then went into one of the longest championship droughts in baseball history called by some the “Curse of the Bambino” after the Red Sox’s sale of Babe Ruth to the rival Yankees in 1918.  The Red Sox did not see another championship until 2004.  The team’s intense rivalry with the New York Yankees is by far the fiercest and most historic in North American professional sports.  But I’m not a baseball fan, so let’s move on to more important things…
  • The Boston Celtics!!!  The team rocked the faces off basketball fans everywhere from 1957 to 1969, winning 11 championships in 13 years, 8 of those being consecutive, this being the longest consecutive championship winning streak of any North American professional sports team!  Yep, they’re awesome.  And in case you were living under a rock during the recent NBA finals, they were matched up once again with their long-standing rival, the puktastic LA Lakers.  They may have lost, but they put up a heck of a strong fight, and no matter what, when it comes to basketball, my blood will always run green. I heart Rajon Rondo!
  • And lastly, but no less important, and the inspiration for this post…the Boston Creme Pie.  Contrary to the name, this is definitely a cake, but legend says that back in 1855 when the recipe was created, pie tins were all that were available to bake this delectable dessert.  It was created by French chef M. Sanzian at Boston’s Parker House Hotel.  It is made up of two layers of sponge cake with a filling of vanilla custard and a chocolate ganache glaze on top.  The Boston Creme Pie was named the official dessert of Massachusetts in 1996.  I was asked to make one for one of my co-workers birthdays, and was more than pleased to try it out for the first time!

It turned out beautiful in one of the most simple ways, and I will certainly put this in my recipe file for life.  If you want to try the recipe out, this is the one I used.  You just can’t go wrong with light airy sponge cake, vanilla custard and chocolate.

I think I should live in Boston, so if anyone has any connections to teaching jobs out there, hook us up!

Anybody know Boston well?  What wonderful, glorious, amazing, fabulous, magnificent, outstanding, sensational, or terrific parts did I miss?

4 thoughts on “Brilliant Boston!

  1. Mama says:

    OH. MY. GOSH! (I’m saying this with a pause between each word and the “gosh” part has a slight squeal to it.) Again…amazing post and AMAZING dessert! I, too, have a huge desire to go to Boston. Always have. I’ve always wanted to go and visit all of the east coast, but Boston tugs at me. Maybe one day. It would be fun to go together!

  2. Connie Brotzman says:

    Count me in on the Boston trip!! And..Annie that Boston Creme Pie looks exquisite. I bet your coworker was amazed and delighted (I wish I could think of all these cool adjectives when I’m playing Scrabble with your Mother).

    Thanks for sharing a little bit of history, geography and foodology with me. OK…I made that last word up!

  3. Aaron says:

    We’ll go to Boston someday! I wanna go too, and smell the still-lingering molasses on a hot summer day. Nice job, historian!

Leave a Reply

