Hi-Ho! Cherry O

It all started with this…

I found this lovely little cookie cutter while I was visiting my sister and her family a couple of months ago.  I immediately snatched it up and brought it home with big plans in store for it!  The minute I saw it I was fondly reminded of a game my sister and I used to play a lot when we were younger.

Look familiar?  This delightful little ditty is Hi Ho! Cherry-O.  Isn’t it so charming?  I’m going to be frank about my history with board games.  I absolutely LOVE board games.  And I was lucky enough to have a mother and sister that loved them too, so we played them often.  However…I didn’t handle losing very graciously.  I even think my mom would ask my sister to lose every once in awhile so it wasn’t such an ordeal every time.  For my sister, who is smart, logical, ingenious, and skillful, that was nearly an impossible task to ask of her.  She regularly won each game we played, and to her it just wasn’t worth playing if winning wasn’t an option.  Sounds reasonable.

I like to think that I’ve completely grown out of that childish behavior, although no one is around to partake in board game playing with me.  Aaron is not a lover of game playing.  He’s even gone so far as to buy me an electronic Yahtzee game so I’ll stop asking him to play the game with me. 🙂

At any rate, that sweet little cookie cutter flooded my mind with memories of Hi-Ho! Cherry O, and I couldn’t wait to take the classic game and turn it into a sugar cookie.

Sometimes it’s the small things in life that bring the biggest smile to my face!  To my dear sister… I may not have been the most fun to play games with when we were little, but I hope you would sit and partake in this bit of deliciousness with me any day.

2 thoughts on “Hi-Ho! Cherry O

  1. reluctant mama says:

    Oh Annie. I wish so badly that I were there to eat those lovely little cookies. You are so fun. Next time we’re together, let’s you and me just FILL the time with games! Boys or no! You are a treasure of a sister.

Leave a Reply

