Fall’s Treasures

For the love of all things pumpkin, I ADORE FALL!!!

I love when the leaves start to change color and drop, making the street that I live on look like this one…

And I really love these little treasures…

These are the sweetest pumpkins ever!  Each year I wait with anticipation to pick out my favorite “Fairytale Pumpkin” to grace my doorstep.

And the return of this 12 ounces of goodness in a stylish paper cup always puts a smile on my face.  Especially on days like today where I splurge and allow myself one…

This awesome little head wrap that is sitting on my dresser just waiting for a cold event to be worn to…

The anticipation of seeing these lovely faces in just a few short weeks…

And the smell of this filling my home on a brisk, sunny day…

Pumpkin Bread is one of my very favorite sweet things.  I love Fall spices of all kinds, and this has all of them packed into a yummy bread!  The best part about this one was that I could eat it too!  Gluten-free, and full of flavor!  Two things that don’t often go hand in hand.  I know I’ve found a gluten-free success when even Aaron likes it.

For those of you that enjoy Fall’s little treasures as much as I do, bake some pumpkin bread and enjoy the season!

Gluten Free Pumpkin Bread or Muffins

(adapted from Gluten-Free Baking Classics–by Annalise Roberts)

Makes 12 muffins, 1 large loaf, or 3 mini loaves of pumpkin bread

  • 1 3/4 cups Brown Rice Flour Mix**
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 3/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/3 cup plus 2 Tbsp oil
  • 2 Tbsp molasses
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree

**Brown Rice Flour Mix: 2 cups brown rice flour, 2/3 cup potato starch, 1/3 cup tapioca flour (this will make more than what you need for this recipe)

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Position rack in center of oven.  Grease loaf pan(s) or muffin pan with cooking spray.
  2. Mix flour, sugar, baking soda, xanthan gum, salt, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and cloves together in large mixing bowl of electric mixer.
  3. Combine eggs, water, oil, molasses, and pumpkin in a separate bowl.  Whisk to blend.
  4. Pour the wet ingredients into dry and mix until well blended.  Do not over beat.
  5. Pour batter evenly into pans and bake 45-55 minutes for loaves and about 20-25 minutes for muffins or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
  6. Cool loaves for 8 minutes and then remove from pans.  Remove muffins from pan immediately.  Cool completely on rack before serving or wrapping for storage.  Easiest to slice when chilled.
6 thoughts on “Fall’s Treasures

  1. Sweet J says:

    Wish we were there to eat it! I miss all things Bend and especially your kitchen. Thanks for the reminder of how wonderful Fall is in places where trees grow. 🙂

  2. kerry says:

    1. I want that head wrap. I’ve been looking for one like that ever since I saw a girl wearing one at the MVHS football game.

    2. Fairytale pumpkins are nowhere to be found here in Texas. Boo.

    3. That cookbook has turned out to be a GOOD one!!! I think she has a second one. I’ll be on the lookout.

    4. I’m making pumpkin bars today.

    Great post!

    • sweetannieskitchens says:

      1. I’ve got you covered on the head wrap. 🙂 What color would you like if you had your choice?
      2. Texas needs to get on the horn with the fairytale pumpkins.
      3. I LOVE that cookbook! So good!
      4. Yum.

  3. Connie Brotzman says:

    South Padre Island doesn’t have streets that look like that! I do miss the fall colors. Thanks for another great post…

    Kerry…go figure. HEB in Brownsville has Fairytale pumpkins but the one in Port Isabel doesn’t.

    A Fairy Tale:

    Connie: I wish I could find a white or light green pumpkin!

    Old Female Friend of Chris’s: Duh!…Pumpkins are “ORRRRAAAAAANGE!!!”

    Connie: Well…Now they are coming out with pumpkins that are different colors. I know because I bought them in Colorado and scooped out the insides, inserted a container and made delightful flower arrangements with then.

    OFFOC: Rolling eyes towards the heavens….”I am going to ask MY mother!”

    Connie: “Mmmmkay….”

Leave a Reply

