Like a Sparkly Sugar Coating…

Merriam Webster defines the word thankful as being well-pleased.  It takes it’s place among many other lovely words such as content, overwhelmed, and satisfied.  With Thanksgiving blissfully making an appearance this week, I find myself delighting in thoughts of my splendid family.

This past week I got to spend five glorious days with my sister, brother-in-law, and sweet little nephew.  It’s one of my favorite things in the whole world.  I count down the days until the next visit every time they leave (currently sitting at 50 days…and counting).  I’ve spent most of my adult life living states away from my family, seeing each other once, maybe twice a year.  And while most of those years have been spent feeling deeply saddened at the fact that I don’t get to see them as often as I’d like, this past year has brought me new perspective on my time spent with them.

There are days where I wish I could call my mom up to have her come over and show me what my bread dough should look like before I put it in the oven.

Some days I would do anything to be able to sit in the back of a church service where my dad is leading so that I can hear his voice singing like I took for granted so many times growing up.

More times than I can count I wish I could get some cooking lessons from my brother-in-law, who seems to be able to take seasonings and meat and create something that is spectacular.

Most days my heart aches to be able to sit down with my sister and a cup of coffee and talk about life.

And not a day goes by that I don’t desperately wish for a hug from my nephew.

But I also love that every time I get to see any of them I have so much excitement built up, that I have trouble sleeping the night before.  And that anything we choose to do is fun, even if it’s just sitting and watching a movie together.  And that coffee is so much better when we’re drinking it together.  Being apart makes EVERYTHING so much sweeter when we do get to see each other, and that is something I cherish.

Since they aren’t around to taste most of the things I bake, it has been so much fun to find special things to make so that they get to enjoy them too when they come out to visit.  Knowing my dear sister and her family would be spending this past week with us, I decided to make these…

Ginger-Spice Sandwich Cookies with Lemon Cream.  Boy howdy!  I think I’ve made my love for both ginger and lemon more than clear, but honestly, putting these two fantastic flavors together is like a celebration in your mouth.  To quote my endearing sister, Sarah, “It’s like a paradise sandwich!”  My favorite part about these little treasures is the sparkly sugar coating.  It makes an average cookie look special, extraordinary, and fantastic!  It was fun sharing these with some of the people I love most!

I’m blessed with an extraordinary family…

We love being with each other.  We love to joke with each other.  We love doing nothing with each other.  We love eating meals together.  We accept and encourage one another.  We aren’t afraid to be honest with one another.  We always hope for the best for each other.  And when we get the opportunity to spend time together, we soak it all in, hoping it will somehow tide us over until the next time we get to see each other.

…they’re sort of like a sparkly sugar coating.

4 thoughts on “Like a Sparkly Sugar Coating…

  1. Liz S. says:

    Annie! I know exactly how you feel! You have written exactly what my heart longs for most days as I miss my family very much! I miss my sisters the most. But you are right I am always so excited to see them and treasure the time spent together so much more now!

  2. Sarah Swan says:

    Paradise sandwich. You said you’d quote me on that. Those cookies were so fantastic. You’re right about the party in your mouth! We adore you too, and are counting down until you get here again right along with you! And you’ll be baking for us again too! Even better 🙂

Leave a Reply

