You Can’t Catch Me!

Who hasn’t read this classic little story?  It’s one of my favorites, but a bit disturbing, which makes sense why I love it so.

  • It starts out by introducing this old couple that are terribly saddened by never having their own child.
  • The old lady becomes senile enough to think that baking a cookie in the shape of a boy would actually fill that void.
  • In an attempt to escape the ultra hot oven, this poor little cookie man is relentlessly chased by an old couple, threshers, mowers, cows, horses, and a fox where he finally meets a slow and torturous death in which his limbs are eaten one by one by the fox.
  • The last words of this story are “…and never spoke again.”

Unsettling story aside, this little cookie man is a staple in our home every December.

Their simplicity is captivating!  The Christmas season hasn’t truly commenced for us until these make an appearance and fill our home with the smell of ginger, cinnamon, and cloves.  They are the perfect cookie to set out for Santa, excellent with a cup of hot cocoa, and one of the only things I would dunk in a glass of milk!  I’ve never been much of a dunker of my food aside from the traditional cinnamon roll dunked in chili (don’t judge me), but these darling little confections just seem to scream “Dunk me!”

While I make these every year, I tried a new recipe this year and Aaron says they have a “bite” to them.  Must be the fresh ginger!  If you don’t already have a family recipe for gingerbread men, try this one out!  I added 1 Tbsp. freshly grated ginger added at the same time as the molasses.

What are your holiday baking traditions at Christmas time?

2 thoughts on “You Can’t Catch Me!

  1. Coffeecake says:

    We made Pfefferneuese (I’m sure that’s not even spelled right) for years, remember? A gigantic bowl of bite-sized cookies that took hours to accomplish. I don’t do that too much anymore, but your sister does. Now, if I make it, I cut the recipe into fourths or something. We also always did the Christmas cut-outs and spent an evening decorating them. You girls were precious…I was anal. Hershey Kiss cookies, cream cheese coffeecakes (still..every year). We also made gingerbread man cookies when you were growing up, although not every year. I’m really happy that you are developing traditions like this. You’re gonna be famous for it one day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

