With mallows please!

Does anyone else get as excited as I do when you see this?

 

I love hot chocolate!  Nothing says Christmas quite like it.  It evokes the most wintery, snowy, sit by the fire, read a good book, watch a Christmas movie thoughts!

I like to use a favorite mug because I’m convinced it makes my cocoa taste better.  My good friend Kim bought Aaron and I these amazing blue pottery mugs a couple of years ago as a gift.  I seriously used that mug every day.  Until one fateful day when that beautiful mug crushed into about 100 pieces in my sink.  I cried.  And then Aaron told me I wasn’t allowed to touch his.

So the following summer I bought myself a brand new blue one at our summer festival here in Bend.  It was so pretty!  I picked it out as a birthday gift to myself and was so excited to resume drinking yummy hot drinks  in style!  Its time in my home was short-lived.  A couple of months later I was staring at 100 pieces of pretty blue pottery all across my counter.  I cried. (Don’t judge.  I’m a girl and I get emotional when my favorite things are no longer a part of my life).

This year for my birthday week Aaron was kind enough to try again and purchased another charming pottery mug for me…this time in red.  Six months later, I’m still enjoying hot chocolate out of it. 🙂

Every winter I make up my own batch of hot chocolate mix.  It’s so much better than the instant packets!  My dear friend, Shauna, gave me her recipe for hot chocolate which was good enough on it’s own, but I was eager to try out a few others and ended up combining a few to make it my own.  It’s great to have around during the holiday season.  It makes for a quick dessert if you have people over!  Add a dash of cream, a splash of Peppermint Schnapps, and top with marshmallows or whipped cream!  Enjoy!

 

 

Annie’s Hot Chocolate Mix

Makes about 4 1/2 quarts of dry mix

25 5/8 oz. nonfat dry milk powder

6 oz. powdered non-dairy creamer

3 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1 3/4 cup cocoa

3 small boxes chocolate pudding

3/4 of a 21.8oz. carton of Nesquick

Mix all of the ingredients together and then run through a food processor.

5 thoughts on “With mallows please!

  1. Tyler Zey says:

    Did you take those pictures? I just found them via google images and they are fantastic! I see the post is older, but hope you are still blogging away. 🙂 Enjoying this recipe from Iowa.

Leave a Reply

