Valentine’s Day, cookies, and getting dumped

Pink, red, hearts, lace, ruffles, glitter, cupid, and schmoopy words.

Valentine’s Day is the best when you’re in school.  In elementary school you get to give and receive those cheap little baseball card sized valentines and deposit them into all of your classmates decorated Valentine’s boxes.  A party is thrown, cookies, cupcakes, and candy are consumed.  It doesn’t get much better than to have love affirmed in this sweet way!

In middle school it’s the awkward possibility of receiving a teddy bear and carnations, or one of those fancy mylar balloons.  Going home with any of those things is guaranteed to make a junior high girl giggle for days.

In high school, you hope for that first real Valentine’s date.  Finally being old enough to have a boyfriend that doesn’t involve your mom or dad dropping you off at the movie theater. If you’re lucky enough to have a boyfriend over Valentine’s Day, you can actually be picked up and taken out on a real date.

I’ve had my fair share of Valentine gifts.  Some I like to think back and remember with a chuckle and a smile, and others, I wish I could forget.  One year my boyfriend Alan got me a really ugly teddy bear and flowers and had them delivered to school for me.  It didn’t matter how ugly that teddy bear was, because the girls that didn’t get ugly teddy bears were envious.  I was a cheerleader, he was a varsity wrestler…it was sweet.  I really liked him.  I think I acted a little like this with that ugly bear:

We really only lasted a few months.  He went to a different school nearly 30 miles away, and technically he wasn’t supposed to have a girlfriend during wrestling.  He did, however, ask me to his prom before we called it quits and I said no.  It was one of those moments I regretted almost instantaneously.

Unfortunately my most memorable Valentine’s Day involved some cookies, a boyfriend I had been dating for several months, and the collision of a bad rumor turning into truth.  Matt and I had been very good friends for the past year and I think both of us knew eventually we would start dating.  It seemed pretty natural considering we enjoyed each others company so much.  We had chemistry together.  Literally.  We sat right next to each other in Chemistry all year long.  I always attribute the “C” that I got in this class to the idea that I’m horrible at science, and my lack of interest in the periodic table, but if I’m going to be honest, he probably had a little bit to do with it.  We had been dating for a few months when Valentine’s Day rolled around.  My two girlfriends and I spent the evening before baking cookies for each of our boyfriends.  The next morning I brought them to school for him.  Nearly 30 minutes into my first class of the day my 11th grade world came crashing down.  Hearing that my boyfriend fancied someone else made this naive 16 year old teary.  I won’t tell you how I got back at him and the girl he fancied, because I’m not proud of it, but the truth of the matter is that he missed out on some good cookies.

My favorite Valentine’s Day became so with the receiving of a simple card from the guy I desperately wanted to ask me on a real date.  But that’s for a later post when I tell you about ♥ Our Love Story .

In honor of those cookies that never really got to be enjoyed, I decided to do something fun this year.  I’ll be making these pretty little sugar cookies for Valentine’s Day, February 14, 2011…

…and taking orders!  School parties, friends, co-workers, boyfriends/girlfriends, the love of your life…be thinking about who you may want to say “I think you’re swell!” to with these treats!  They will be packaged by the dozen for $10, or I can do a custom order with price breaks for increased quantity.  Message me at sweetannieskitchen@gmail.com with your order!  Last day to place your order is Tuesday, February 8th, and they will be delivered to you on Sunday, February 13th.

Stay tuned for more love inspired posts! ♥

10 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day, cookies, and getting dumped

  1. Matthew says:

    The Fact that these have become increasingly more frequent has quite literally made my day several times. Of course I am on the edge of my seat wondering what you did to get back at the Fancy”ing” BF and said fanc ‘y” . . . Keep it up Annie!

  2. Jon says:

    I gave my girlfriend (now my wife) a teddy bear made out of real mink fur. She said she liked it, but now that I reflect on it, it seems really creepy. Oh well, she eventually said “I Do” despite the dead-animal-fur teddy bear.

    Great post!

  3. Katie Scott says:

    Okay, we are meant to be friends for life. Here are two reasons why:

    A. You have a video clip of Taylor Swift and Jennifer Garner – the collision of which I want to be.
    B. I was dumped on Valentine’s Day too!

    Meant. To. Be.

    Katie

Leave a Reply

