A Love Story…Chapter I

The Uninterested Guy, The Roommate, and My Colorado Friend

I was standing in the middle of my 12×12 dorm room, wondering what in the world I was doing.  My parents had just pulled away from dropping me off at school.  I was nearly 1000 miles away from everything I knew so well, alone, and in Southern California.  Yikes.

Move in day!

This was so out of character for me.  I used to cry when my parents made aesthetic changes to our home.  I stopped talking to my sister for three full days when she got a tattoo.  Change did not sit well with me.  Moving so far away with nothing to cling to for comfort was something nobody would have expected from me.  With a handful of things I so desperately needed to leave behind in my small town, I braced myself for starting over.

I’m not sure how long I stood there before I met the roommate.  A girl from Oregon.  I can honestly say that before this moment I had not given the Beaver state a single thought aside from the popular mid 80s Oregon Trail computer game that I dominated in elementary school.  She seemed nice.  We decided to make our way to the bookstore to spend an outrageous amount of money on books that we would use for our classes and then never look at again.  While in line, the roommate ran into an acquaintance.  And that is when I very first met the guy.

That's him on the left...

He was a little rude, completely uninterested in the girl standing next to the roommate, also from the rarely thought of state of Oregon, and didn’t hesitate to jump on board when the roommate asked him to join us for lunch.  I sat through lunch observing the guy talk with the roommate about their precious home state, the camps they had worked at together, and their mutual love of the Philippines [insert eye roll here]. As I sat there pondering why there were so many Oregonians at this school, I’m fairly certain I didn’t say a word the entire meal.  It was clear. The guy had eyes for the roommate.

Over the next several months the guy made attempt after attempt at getting to know the roommate better.  There was, however, a glitch in the guy’s plan.  The roommate started dating someone that did not go to our school, and lived a good hour car drive away.  Phone calls were fielded by me since I was the only one ever around, and before long, those calls that were meant for the roommate, became inadvertently for me.

Although fully enjoying the new found friendship with the guy that I first thought rude, I wasn’t wasting any time.  I went on dates with several guys at my school.  I spent loads of time getting to know my guy co-worker whom I adored, I took a chance on the school misfit for a few weeks, and I even went on a date with the campus nice guy.  But if truth be told, I had come to college with eyes for someone else.

I had known my Colorado friend for years.  He lived nearly four hours from me while growing up, but we had spent summer camp together since we were 12, and our families were friends.  My crush on him had begun years before our first year of college, and he had finally started showing more of a romantic interest in me.  During our fall break, my Colorado friend and I made the 18 hour drive by ourselves to go home and visit our families.  I was more than a little excited to get so much time with him.  I knew he liked me.  And I liked him.  And my wish for a relationship with my Colorado friend was about to come true.

Except for it didn’t.

To be continued…

9 thoughts on “A Love Story…Chapter I

  1. Wendy Temple says:

    Oh the memories of LIFE Bible College! I can’t wait to hear how you and Aaron actually got together. When I arrived at LBC the next year, you were already dating. I remember that Aaron would wait for you at the bottom of the stairs and give all of us “high fives”, accompanied by a sarcastic comment or joke, as we passed by him. I had no idea then that he grew up with Adam, my future husband. Small world! Can’t wait for the sequel to the story.

    • sweetannieskitchens says:

      Wendy, it’s always fun to hear a little piece of the story like you shared, from someone who got to watch it all happen from a different perspective. 🙂 It was sweet to remember that. And yes, I often think about how crazy it is that you ended up here in Bend, marrying one of Aaron’s closest childhood friends. I love it!

  2. Sweet J says:

    “I used to cry when my parents made aesthetic changes to our home. I stopped talking to my sister for three full days when she got a tattoo. Change did not sit well with me.”

    You were upset when we sold the Scout too! Hahah!!

    If you are not careful I’m going to know all the things you and your sister talk about when I’m not around. 😉

Leave a Reply

