New Cookbook, and Lots to Do!

This is my newest addition to my out of control collection of cookbooks:

I truly have no more room to keep them, and have hundreds of recipes marked to try throughout my ever-growing collection.  I can’t help myself as I meticulously pore over the pages of pastries, breads, tarts, and cookies.  It’s a sickness at this point, and I need some serious help.  Here are a few that I am most looking forward to creating from this lovely book:

  • Chocolate Hazelnut Tart–this is a must for me.  Our best friends own a hazelnut (affectionately called “filberts” here in Oregon) orchard over in the valley, and most summers I end up with bags of them.  Can’t wait to turn them into this delicious treat this year!
  • Shaker Lemon Tart–we all know about my obsession with lemons as displayed here and here.  This one is no exception.
  • French Raspberry Tart–this will be made at the height of raspberry season this summer so it doesn’t cost me a small fortune, but I am so looking forward to it!  I love desserts that are made mainly of fresh fruit!
  • Fig & Raspberry Croustades–figs are sort of my new favorite thing.  They are intriguing and delicious, and absolutely gorgeous in recipes!
  • Briochepost to come soon!  I made this last week and it filled my home with the most wonderful fresh baked bread smell ever!
  • Individual Danish Apple Strudels–when we were in Germany a few years ago we had our fair share of apple strudel, but it was never enough!  It’s one of my all-time favorite desserts and yet I’ve never made it myself!  Shame.
  • Lemon Vanilla Bean Shortbreads–I love all kinds of shortbread, and this one looks as delightful as any other I’ve tried.  Another great way to use lemons in season!
  • Caramelized Apple Tarte Tartin–this is one of those goals I’ve had for awhile.  It’s a classic French recipe, and I think it looks like one of the most wonderful foods you could ever put in your mouth. ♥

So there it is!  A huge list of recipes to try!  It is added to an already long-running list of delightful recipes that are waiting to be shown some love, and will more than likely be added onto as I purchase more cookbooks in the months to come.  There will be no shortage of sweet treats in my home…of this I’m certain.

How about you?  Any recipe you’ve been dying to try?

5 thoughts on “New Cookbook, and Lots to Do!

  1. Coffeecake says:

    1) I had a slice of Shaker Lemon Pie (not Tart) once and was so taken with the slices of lemon in it, rind and all! It was fabulous and I’ve never really gotten over it. Don’t know why I’ve never tried to make it myself.

    2) I recently had a Buttermilk Pie (one of those truly Southern delights that you’ll probably never eat unless you come to the South) and I had the WORST time staying away from it! I want to try making one so bad but can’t really afford to eat the entire thing again! Maybe I will, though.

    Great post, Annie! By the way, you can NEVER have enough cookbooks so wipe that out of your head right now!

  2. reluctant mama says:

    I don’t have a list of recipes I want to try, but I do have a baked good that is my nemesis: cinnamon rolls. I’m trying them AGAIN this week, and I’ll admit I’m scared. These everyday treats somehow get the best of me every time!

Leave a Reply

