#3 Toffee Chocolate Candy

I’ve had this recipe marked for over a year now.  I’m not sure why I’ve never tried it.  It looks fairly simple and I love toffee more than pretty much any other confection.  Good Lord in heaven, I love confections.  In fact, as I’m writing this, I’m fairly certain I have a new cavity and need to make a trip to the dentist.  That’s how much of a sweet tooth I have.  I like to consider it somewhat of a blessing that I have celiac disease, or I would absolutely be a 300 pound baker with a mouth full of cavities.  Yikes!  While I can’t eat most of what I bake, candy is always a resounding YES! for me.  Maybe that’s why I’ve put this recipe off for so long, knowing it will be near impossible for me to stay away from.  This delicious toffee confection owns the third spot in my 30 day baking challenge!

Toffee-Chocolate Candy (recipe courtesy of Fine Cooking Magazine)

Makes about 35 two-inch pieces

6 oz. semisweet chocolate, chopped

6 oz. bittersweet chocolate, chopped

8 oz. (1 cup) unsalted butter

1 cup sugar

1 tsp light corn syrup

1/2 tsp  salt

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup finely chopped toasted pecans

  • Combine the chocolates and set aside
  • Set a small bowl of water and a pastry brush next to the stove.  In a heavy saucepan fitted with a candy thermometer, cook the butter, sugar, 1/4 cup water, corn syrup, and salt over medium heat.

Stir frequently with a wooden spoon until the butter melts and the sugar dissolves; then stir gently and only occasionally as the mixture approaches 300 degrees and begins to darken.

Brush the sides of the pan down with a little water every once in a while to keep the sugar from crystallizing.  When the mixture reaches 300 degrees (this will take about 18-20 minutes), remove the pan from the heat, carefully add the vanilla, and stir in it.  With a heatproof rubber spatula, scrape the mixture into a metal 9×11-inch baking pan set on a rack.  Tilt the pan until the toffee covers the bottom of the pan evenly.  Let cool for 2 minutes.

  • Sprinkle with the chopped chocolate and let it melt for a few minutes (cover with another baking pan to help it melt).  Smooth the chocolate with a spatula (use a narrow offset spatula if you have one) and sprinkle on the pecans.  Let cool completely (3-4 hours) and then break or chop into pieces; use a metal spatula or a blunt knife to pry the toffee out of the pan.  To help the chocolate set faster on a warm day, refrigerate candy.

When I first took my toffee off the stove I thought maybe I had cooked it a few seconds too long.  Candy making has a real science behind it, and I haven’t yet mastered it.  I’m lucky if I can get my candy to turn out 50% of the time.  However, I watched that thermometer like a hawk and took it off as soon as it reached 300 degrees.  Turns out I hadn’t cooked it too long after all.  Either way, this stuff is like crack and  I’ll be sure to get rid of it pronto so I don’t fall victim to another cavity.  Dr. Patten worked too hard, and I suffered 5 long years of braces to get my teeth to look nice. 🙂

Here’s what I love about this candy crack:  Duh. It’s crack.

Here’s what I hate about this candy crack:  Same as above.  It’s going to give me more cavities!  Overall, great and easy recipe!

7 thoughts on “#3 Toffee Chocolate Candy

  1. Diane says:

    Yumm!! This looks wonderful. It’s a good thing it’s not at my house or it would be gone!! Enjoy a piece or two for me:)

  2. Cindy Hoal says:

    Annie,
    I started following you, thank you to Connie (I love Connie!). I also know your parents from high school. But the big news here is I do not really like to cook much of anything. However, I have loved reading what you are making….and after this and the cupcakes, I dare say I am going to have to try both! I can not believe this actually! You are a wonderful writer. Thank you for sharing! And happy baking!
    Cindy Hoal

    • sweetannieskitchens says:

      Thanks Cindy! You should definitely try one of the recipes here. The cupcakes take some time because there are lots of steps, but none of the steps are difficult, so they are actually pretty easy! Good luck, and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

