#4 Bowtie Cookies with Apricot Preserves

I love these little cookies!  So incredibly sweet!  Every time I look at them I think of sitting and sipping tea with my sister.  She loves tea and a good cookie more than anyone I know, and it’s one of the many things I adore about her. ♥

When I was in junior high I spent a couple of weeks during the summers visiting my aunt and uncle and cousin in Wyoming.  My aunt owned a kitchen store downtown that I helped out at during the day.  My cousin was quite a bit younger than me, but a couple of times a week we would take a break in the afternoon and walk over to the tea shop around the corner where they would set up an afternoon tea for guests.  The shop was decked out with the prettiest tablecloths, dishes, and teapots!  You got to pick your favorite tea that they would steep in a beautiful teapot and bring to you with a selection of the most charming tea cookies.  It was the perfect afternoon treat!

Bowtie Cookies with Apricot Preserves (recipe courtesy of Fine Cooking Magazine)

Yields: 70 cookies

8 oz cream cheese, softened at room temperature

1 cup unsalted butter, softened at room temperature

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, sifted; more for rolling

1 12-oz. jar good-quality apricot preserves

1 large egg, beaten

Powdered sugar, for dusting

  • With a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the cream cheese and butter on medium high speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Scrape the bowl and paddle.  With the mixer on low, gradually mix in the flour until a smooth dough forms.  Turnout the dough onto a lightly floured work surface and knead it gently to form a ball.  Portion the dough into thirds, wrap each in plastic or waxed paper, and flatten into squares.

Refrigerate for at least 4 hours or overnight.

  • Position a rack in the center of the oven and heat the oven to 400 degrees.  Line 3 cookie sheets with parchment.  Remove one piece of dough from the refrigerator and roll it out on a lightly floured surface into a 1/8 inch thick rectangle.  Using a sharp knife or a pizza cutter, trim the rough edges of the dough so the sides are straight, and then cut into 2-inch squares.

 Spoon about 1/2 tsp. of the preserves onto the center of each square.

Fold one corner into the center, dab with the beaten egg, and then bring the opposite corner into the center and pinch firmly together to seal the corners (this turned out to be pretty important in order for the finished product to not come undone, so be careful during this step to make sure the dough is really pinched together).  With a thin spatula, transfer the cookie to the cookie sheet.  Repeat the process with the remaining dough.

  • Bake the cookies 1 sheet at a time until golden and very lightly browned and puffed, 10-12 minutes.  Transfer to a rack to cool completely and then dust with powdered sugar.

The recipe says these little cookies can be frozen for up to 3 months which is a total bonus!  I love having things like this around that I can take out and thaw for drop in guests!  Lovely sister of mine, if I wasn’t leaving town today, I’d put these in the mail for you so you could enjoy them with tea next week. ♥ Love you so!

Here’s what I love about these sweet cookies: They are incredibly easy!  The dough is three ingredients, and it comes together in about 3 minutes.  Plus, it makes a lot at once so you can freeze some for later!

Here’s what I hate about these sweet cookies: The bowties most definitely want to come undone while baking.  You have to be extra conscientious of getting the corners pinched together or they pop open when they puff up during baking.  Trust me.  I had plenty that I wouldn’t have wanted to serve because of this.

2 thoughts on “#4 Bowtie Cookies with Apricot Preserves

  1. reluctant mama says:

    Those. Look. Awesome. I want to eat one right now! I’ll dream of them while I sip my next cup of tea, and maybe when we’re together again we can bake something that can be sipped with our afternoon tea while Em naps 🙂 I’ll even get out a pretty pot and cups!

  2. Diane says:

    Those look amazing. I’m not sure I’d attempt them because I’m pretty sure mine would be the ones undone with the jam spilling out everywhere. You have such a knack for pretty baking and these are SO pretty. They sound delicious!

Leave a Reply

