#7 Homemade Graham Crackers

This is another recipe that I’ve had marked for a really long time.  I love the idea of baking your own crackers of any kind, and I’ve never tried it.  I was super impressed with not only how easy these were, but how very much they look and feel like real Honey Maid graham crackers!  Look and feel aside, Aaron said the flavors were much more intense and fresh than the boxed cracker, which is exactly what you’re going for in making your own!

Graham crackers always remind me of childhood.  They were a favorite snack of mine as a kid, and I remember them being a constant in our cupboards.  They are the perfect amount of sweet without being an all out cookie, and I desperately wish I could still have them.  I may have to put these in the mail to my nephew!

Homemade Graham Crackers (recipe courtesy of Fine Cooking)

1 cup whole-wheat graham flour

1 cup and 2 Tbsp all-purpose flour

1/3 cup packed light brown sugar

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/8 tsp ground cinnamon

6 Tbsp cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

3 Tbsp buttermilk

3 Tbsp honey

1 1/2 Tbsp molasses

1/2 tsp vanilla

  • Position a rack in the center of the oven and heat the oven to 350 degrees.
  • Put both flours, the sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon in a food processor and pulse until combined.  Add the butter.

Pulse until the mixture resembles coarse meal.  In a small bowl, whisk the buttermilk, honey, molasses and vanilla.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry and pulse until a dough begins to form.

Remove the dough from the food processor and transfer to a large piece of parchment (I ran out of parchment paper yesterday so I just used two Silpats instead).

  • Lay another piece of parchment over it.  Roll the dough into a 1/8 inch thick, 16×13-inch rectangle.  Remove the top sheet of paper, trim the rough edges, and transfer the dough along with the bottom layer of parchment to a baking sheet.

With a pizza cutter, cut the dough into 2-inch squares (press just hard enough to cut the dough and not the paper).  With a fork, prick each square 3 or 4 times.

Bake until golden brown, 15-20 minutes.  Let cool on the sheet.  Once completely cooled they will break apart fairly easily at the spots you cut them before baking.

**Make Ahead: You can divide the dough before rolling, wrap one half well, and refrigerate for up to 3 days or freeze for up to 1 week.  Remove it a couple of hours before baking to let it soften slightly.

What I love about these cute crackers:  Easy, easy, easy!  What kid wouldn’t want this lovely treat?

What I hate about these cute crackers:  It’s a little difficult to roll thin enough.  Part of my sheet that I rolled out was thicker than 1/8 inch, and while the cracker pieces still turned out tasting divine, they were more of a cookie because they were more soft.  If you’re going for a true cracker, make sure the dough is truly 1/8 inch thick at all spots before popping them in the oven!

3 thoughts on “#7 Homemade Graham Crackers

  1. Jenn says:

    K, made. SO EASY!!!! for just a little – and I mean JUST A LITTLE – extra time, why WOULDN’T you bake a batch of these for s’mores!? I also have a recipe for some beautiful marshmallows that I want to try now!

    I will have to send you the pic, though, of my options for a rolling pin when I realized that I STILL! don’t have one (I cannot tell you how many times I’ve had one in my hand at a store and ended up putting it back…).

    Loved making these! LOVE that you’re doing this all! Love YOU!!!

Leave a Reply

