#12 Champagne Cupcakes

I have to admit that I was a bit more excited for the photo opportunity with this celebratory cupcake than I was to actually make it.  But then I tasted the frosting and thought if it was actually possible to get a buzz off of champagne laced frosting…well then, that made me a little bit more excited than I was before.  I’ve been dying to try champagne cake and frosting for awhile now, but haven’t had a good event to make them for.  Now that I know how truly wonderful they are, an event may not be necessary in the future.

Here’s the things I’m celebrating today!

♥ Come October, I’m going to have a new adorable niece to love on!

♥ We’re leaving to go visit my parents in the great state of Texas in less than a week!

♥ The rodeo is coming to town, and please believe I will be there with all my friends in boots and curls!

♥ I have a few new sundresses that I’m dying to wear, and will finally get to while on vacation next week…where there is actual sunshine!

Who says you need a big event to celebrate!  I’m certain we could all find at least one thing to celebrate on any given day, justifying the act of eating one of these delights.  However, somebody should seriously hire me to make these for their wedding because they are simply stunning!

Champagne Cupcakes (recipe courtesy of Sugar and Charm)

Makes ~24 cupcakes

2 3/4 cups flour

3 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

2/3 cup butter, room temperature

1 1/2 cups white sugar

3/4 cup champagne (sweet, not dry…look for moscato or asti)

6 egg whites

Champagne Buttercream:

3 1/4 cups powdered sugar

1 cup butter, room temperature

1/2 tsp vanilla

3 Tbsp champagne, room temperature

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Prepare a cupcake pan with liners.
  • In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until very light and fluffy.  Sift flour, baking powder, and salt together, and then blend into creamed mixture alternately with the champagne.
  • In another large bowl, beat egg whites until stiff peaks form.  Fold 1/3 of the whites into the batter to lighten it, and then fold in remaining egg whites.  Fill the cupcake liners 2/3 full.
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean.
  • To make the frosting cream sugar and butter with an electric mixer.  Mix on low until well blended and then on medium for another 2 minutes.  Add vanilla and champagne, beating on medium for another minute.  Spread or pipe onto cooled cupcakes.  Sprinkle with edible glitter if desired.

What I love about these buzzed cupcakes:  Easy, elegant, and simple…but absolutely makes a statement!

What I hate about these buzzed cupcakes:  You have to open an entire bottle of champagne to only use about a cup of it.  On second thought…shouldn’t be too much of a problem. 😉

4 thoughts on “#12 Champagne Cupcakes

  1. Shauna says:

    I just read about these pretty cupcakes on the sugar and charm blog last night! I love that blog and can’t wait to try these!

Leave a Reply

