#15 Gluten Free Hamburger Buns

There are some things in life that since being diagnosed with celiac disease are a bit of an inconvenience.  Like the fact that anytime I want to eat something I have to take the time to read the food label.  Or the frustration of eating at a new friend’s home and struggling over whether to say something beforehand, or wait until we are there, both having the potential of making the host feel uncomfortable.  Or feeling like I’m dominated all of the food choices in our home.  Or being so sick of limited options in my diet.

But most importantly, the fact that I can’t ever have a bun with my hamburger.

It’s really quite sad.  I try to dress up my patties and make them super flavorful by putting mustard, cheese and veg on it, but there’s just no forgetting what it’s like to bite into a full hamburger, bun included.  There’s an easy solution to this, and tonight I put that solution to work and made gluten free hamburger buns.

My goodness they were good!  I didn’t have a hamburger bun pan, but I did have a whoopie pie pan, so I ended up using that as an alternative.  The result was pretty close to perfect!  The only imperfection was that the bun was slightly smaller than the turkey burger.  Ask me if I care.  I haven’t had a burger with a bun for over three years, so I can assure you that I didn’t.  If you’re like me and have to steer clear of anything with gluten in it, I urge you to try these out.  It will be completely worth it!

Gluten Free Hamburger Buns (recipe courtesy of Gluten-Free Baking Classics by Annalise Roberts)

Makes 6 buns

2 large eggs (room temperature is best)

3 Tbsp canola oil

2 cups Bread Flour Mix*

1 1/2 tsp xanthan gum

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp unflavored gelatin

2 Tbsp sugar

1 packet (1/4 oz.) of active dry yeast granules

3/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp milk, heated to 100 degrees

  • Lightly grease a six-bun hamburger bun pan (each bun form is about 4 1/2 inches in diameter).  Dust with rice flour.
  • Mix eggs and canola oil together in a small bowl and set aside.
  • Mix all dry ingredients in large bowl of electric mixer.  Quickly add warm milk, egg, and oil to the bowl; mix until just blended.  Scrape bowl and beaters and then beat at high speed for 3 minutes.
  • Spoon dough into each of the six prepared bun forms.  Carefully smooth and flatten tops of buns with a table knife.  cover with a light cloth and let rise in a warm place for about 30-40 minutes ( or until doubled in size).
  • Place rack in center of oven.  Preheat oven to 375 while buns are rising.
  • Place buns in center of preheated oven for about 15-20 minutes, until buns have a hollow sound when taped on top.  After 15 minutes, cover with foil if browning too quickly.  Remove buns from oven and turn onto a rack to cool.

*Gluten Free Bread Flour Mix

2/3 cup millet flour

1/3 cup sorghum flour

1/3 cup cornstarch

1/3 cup potato starch

1/3 cup tapioca flour

This makes 2 cups of bread flour mix

What I love about these crazy cool hamburger buns:  I can eat them!

What I hate about these crazy cool hamburger buns:  Not many people have a hamburger bun pan, so it makes the recipe not all that appealing to give a whirl.

5 thoughts on “#15 Gluten Free Hamburger Buns

  1. glutenfreegimmethree says:

    Masterful! Maybe one day I’ll register for a hamburger making pan for my wedding. It seems like just that sort of a thing. Until then I’ll have to stick to my “cover it in mustard and ketchup until you can barely see the patty” trick 🙂

  2. Brandy says:

    These look great! I can’t make GF bread to save my life. It doesn’t rise! I have tried new yeast, having just the “right” temperature on everything, etc, but with no luck. Maybe it’s the altitude? Anyway, after years of no buns for my burgers, Udis came out with hamburger buns. They replicate the “regular” buns we remember! I highly recommend them for when you don’t have time to make your own. Great article Annie!

  3. Sarah Swan says:

    I’m so happy you got to enjoy a REAL burger again! I bet you savored every mouthful. (Don’t you still hate the word “savor”? I do.)

Leave a Reply

