#18 Blonde Brownies

We spent our first day here in Midland touring the town!  We visited Grande Stadium which is where Midland High plays out their season.  If you’ve never heard how west Texans view high school football, watch Friday Night Lights.  I have never seen a more true to life show.  The importance on high school football is clearly shown in this amazing stadium!

It’s amazing!  Wish I could actually see a game played here.  It’s a different culture for sure, but I’m enjoying every minute of it.

I’m so thrilled to be able to do some of this baking challenge with my sweet mom, who is an amazing baker and cook herself!  I asked her to choose 3 or 4 recipes for us to try while I was here, and her first choice couldn’t have been more appropriate.  Blonde Brownies.  This is one of my mom’s recipe boxes that she owns.

If you look closely you can get a glimpse of the fact that the top 25 in this pile are all brownie recipes.  My sister and I have teased her about her need to clip every single brownie recipe she comes across for years.  Help me out here Sarah…we can agree that it’s out of control, right?  There’s only so many ways to make brownies!  The recipes are all so similar, and in fact nearly all have the words fudgy and chewy in them somewhere.

What makes this even more ridiculous is that despite having so many brownie recipes, when she actually decides to make brownies, she uses a box mix.  No joke.  So she brought out all of her brownie recipes from this box and had me choose which one I wanted to do.

The lovely recipe we chose wasn’t even in the above pile… 🙂

Blonde Brownies (recipe courtesy of The Great American Cookie Cookbook)

Makes 2 dozen brownies

1 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup packed light brown sugar

1/2 cup butter, softened

2 large eggs

2 tsp vanilla

1 package (12 oz.) semisweet chocolate chunks

3 1/2 oz. macadamia nuts, coarsely chopped, to measure 3/4 cup (I used pecans)

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease 13×9-inch baking pan.  Combine flour, baking powder and salt in small bowl; set aside.
  • Beat sugar, brown sugar and butter in large bowl with electric mixer at medium speed until light and fluffy.  Beat in eggs and vanilla.  Add flour mixture.  Beat at low speed until well blended.  Stir in chocolate chunks and macadamia nuts.  Spread batter evenly into prepared pan.  Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until golden brown.  remove pan to wire rack; cool completely.  Cut into 3 1/4 x 1 1/2 -inch bars.

What I love about these cookies in disguise:  They are so easy, so pretty, and smell like a buttery chocolate chip cookie…only chewy. 🙂

What I hate about these cookies in disguise:  Um…nothing.

6 thoughts on “#18 Blonde Brownies

  1. Marla says:

    Annie! I didn’t realize you were in Midland. I grew up about 60 miles north of where you are right now in a town called Seminole. 🙂 Hae fun visiting your family!
    I love Blonde Brownies. I can’t wait to try your recipe!

  2. Shannon says:

    Annie – thanks for leaving these on “the brown table” (the home of all baked goods up for grabs at FPC Midland). They were delicious! Hope you’ve enjoyed your visit. Your mom and dad are very special to us, so, of course, are you!

  3. Sarah Swan says:

    I was just re-reading this, and can’t believe I didn’t comment earlier. OMG, mom’s obsession with brownie recipes is an unmatched phenomenon. The only thing she might rival it with is recipes for Dutch apple pies. And does she make those? NOPE! So hilarious. I’m glad you didn’t use one of her brownie recipes – I’d hate for them to actually get used or messy after this many years of her careful archiving!

Leave a Reply

