#19 Banana Pudding

Last night I got to celebrate my birthday with my wonderful parents!  My mom made some of my favorite Mexican food, and she chose a banana pudding for dessert!  The entire meal was seriously good, and as I’m writing this, I’m stuffed to the rafters (shout out Brian Regan!).

Banana pudding is normally associated with the south, so she thought it would be a good one to try out since we are all about Texas this week!  This pudding really did have wonderful flavor, but there were several things that irritated us about it, starting with the fact that the recipe is not written well.  It’s pretty vague and the measurements are definitely off.  We got to the end of the recipe and our delicious smelling banana pudding was no thicker than the milk we started with.  We put it back on the heat, hoping to save it, and did finally get it to thicken, but here’s what we did different:

  • Instead of 2 Tbsp. of cornstarch, we used 4 Tbsp.
  • In the directions it never states that you need to allow the milk, sugar and cornstarch mixture to come to a boil, but this is a necessity.  If you don’t let it get hot enough, it won’t ever thicken.  We had completely finished the recipe to the last step and it was still the consistency of milk, so at my mom’s suggestion, we attempted to put it back on the heat to try to thicken it by bringing it to a boil, and it worked!  Mom’s are smart that way.

My dad brought to my attention that this past year I have already been living my 30th year.  This must sound like a very obvious statement to some, but it wasn’t to me, and it made me feel like I just skipped an entire year.  This banana pudding helped ease the jab to my heart that this realization brought. ♥

Banana Pudding (courtesy of Paula Deen)

Makes 8-10 servings

3/4 cup sugar

2 Tbsp cornstarch

3 cups milk

4 egg yolks

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 stick butter

3 medium bananas, sliced

1 12-oz. box vanilla wafers

  • Mix together sugar and cornstarch and slowly add milk. This should be cooked in the top of a double boiler, but you can cook it over low to medium heat, stirring constantly until it thickens–do not leave it unattended.
  • Slightly beat egg yolks and temper with a small amount of the hot custard; stir well.  Add egg mixture to custard pot and cook 2 more minutes.
  • Remove from heat and add vanilla and butter. Let cool. In a 9 by 9-inch oven proof baking dish, alternate pudding, bananas, and wafers, beginning with pudding and ending with pudding.  Add topping, if desired.

What I love about this bananaliciousness:  It was super good!

What I hate about this bananaliciousness:  The recipe was extremely unclear, which caused us to almost ruin my birthday dessert!

Leave a Reply

