#23 Cream Filled Chocolate Cupcakes

We just returned from the great state of Texas where we spent 6 very hot days visiting my parents!  It was so joyous.  We had such a good time with them, and couldn’t have asked for a better way to kick off our summer.  I always have a hard time readjusting to my life here in Bend after I come home from being with my family.  I’ve lived thousands of miles away from all of them since I turned 18, and you would think it would get easier…but it just really doesn’t.  I love them dearly, and wish I could see them way more often.  It does, however, make our time together that much sweeter, and there is definitely something to be said about that.

This year I’m thankful that even though I don’t get to spend Father’s Day with my dear dad, I got to spend the entire week leading up to it with him.  Here are some of the very reasons I love him so!

♥ I used to fall asleep at night to him singing and playing his guitar in the room next to mine.

♥ When I get out of line, he never hesitates to address the hard stuff…because he loves me more than that.

♥ Right before my freshman year of high school I got the worlds worst haircut, and while I cried, and cried, and cried, he still tried to comfort me and tell me how beautiful I was.

♥ He prays for me…incessantly.

♥ He taught me who Jesus is and how a relationship with Him will be the most important thing in my life.

♥ After choosing to read a book to me about tornadoes in Lubbock, Texas for my bedtime story several nights in a row, he built us a tornado shelter in an attempt to ease my fears.

♥ He’s out of this world talented!

♥ He loves my mom so very much.

♥ He used to be the only parent that would stand up and join in on the cheers when I was cheerleading in high school.

♥ There were a few times in my teen years when he had to tell me no.  And while I was angry at the time, I’m so very thankful today.

♥ He required meeting and talking with all of our dates before they could take us out.  Horrifying then, but now I see why.

♥ He’s smart, witty, and holds a wealth of useless knowledge in his head.

♥ He loves me!

When I was in high school my dad and I really got into Snack Pack pudding cups.  My mom would buy them for us on payday, and we would get real excited.  It didn’t take long for us to start accusing each other of eating more than our fair share of the pudding cups.  After this when my mom would bring them home we would immediately split them up evenly and put our initials on the tops of the cups so we couldn’t steal each others.  Now every time I see Snack Packs, I think of this memory.  We have the same affinity for Hostess snack cakes such as ding dongs or cupcakes.  While we didn’t get those very often, when we did we were both in Heaven!

These sweet cupcakes remind me of him!  I didn’t get to make these for him while we were there, but my mom and I worked on several other sweet desserts for him to consume.  And he did!

Dad, thanks for being the best father in the whole entire big wide world!  I love you more and more each day!

Cream Filled Chocolate Cupcakes (recipe courtesy of Martha Stewart*)

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature, plus more for muffin tins
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, plus more for muffin tins
2 cups all-purpose flour, (spooned and leveled)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups sugar
3 large eggs, room temperature
1 cup sour cream, room temperature
1 1/2 cups marshmallow creme (7.5-ounce jar)
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • Preheat oven to 350. Butter two 6-cup (each with a 1-cup capacity) jumbo muffin pans; dust with cocoa powder to coat, tapping out excess. In a medium bowl, whisk together cocoa, flour, baking powder, soda, and salt.
  • Using an electric mixer, beat butter and sugar until light. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. On low speed, add half the flour mixture, followed by sour cream, ending with remaining flour mixture; mix just until incorporated (do not over mix).
  • Divide batter among prepared muffin cups. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center of a cupcake comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes, rotating pans halfway through baking. Cool in pans, 5 minutes; remove cupcakes and cool, right side up, on a wire rack.
  • Meanwhile, prepare filling: In a medium bowl, whisk marshmallow creme and butter until smooth. Chill until slightly firm, 15 to 30 minutes. Transfer mixture to a heavy-duty resealable plastic bag, and seal; cut off one corner of the bag to make a 1/8-inch opening.
  • Using a small melon baller, scoop out center of each cupcake from the bottom, and reserve (you will use this to plug cupcake after filling). Hollow out each cupcake a bit more, discarding crumbs. Insert tip of plastic bag into each cavity, and squeeze to fill; replace plugs. Using remaining filling in plastic bag, decorate top of cupcakes.
*I don’t normally like Martha Stewart recipes, but her cupcake cookbook has been wonderful!  If you like making cupcakes, pick it up!
What I love about these nostalgic cupcakes:  Adorable!…and they remind me of my dad. 🙂
What I hate about these nostalgic cupcakes:  The cupcakes are easy to overbake and then tend to be a little dry.
4 thoughts on “#23 Cream Filled Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. Cindy Hoal says:

    Annie!
    What wonderful memories, feelings, and words about your dad! You are a very lucky girl! I have a question for you. I am looking at getting some cupcake pans for my daughter for her birthday! Do you have a pan you really like or does it make a difference? Thank you for your help!
    Cindy

    • sweetannieskitchens says:

      I don’t really have a preference on cupcake pans. I have one from Wilton and it works great! They are a very trusted company, and their stuff is usually really nice, so I wouldn’t hesitate to get one from them!

Leave a Reply

