#30 Gluten Free Lemon Layer Cake

I’m done.

Glory be.  I’m done!

It’s been 30 full days of challenge, creativity, frustration, and exhaustion.  There were days where I wanted to throw my cookbooks in the trash and never look at them again.  And there were days where I came home from work wishing I could just sit and relax.  But amidst all of the things that made me want to throw in the towel there rested a single truth.

Baking continues to ease my soul.

Today I turn 30.  I have a wonderful husband who asked me to be his nine years ago.  I have parents that not only love me because I’m their kid, but actually enjoy being my friend.  I have a sister that makes me feel like I’m the greatest person in the world.  I have a brother-in-law and sister-in-law that I love being around.  I have a nephew that smiles big and says my name with pure excitement every time he sees me.  I have in-laws that treat me like I am their own, and love me dearly.  I have friends that are more near and dear to me then I could ever explain in written words.  Life is sweet, delightful, and full of joy.  Whoever said turning 30 was difficult? ;)

Life is so very good.  Thanks for following along on this little journey I started!  I hope you take some time to try a recipe from the past 30 days and make your own memory to go along with it.  Because life is about spending time with and creating memories with the people you love.  Here’s to a year ahead filled with more laughter, deeper friendships, more fun, some tears, continued healing, new experiences, greater love…and gluten free doughnuts. ♥

Gluten Free Lemon Layer Cake (recipe courtesy of “Gluten-Free Baking Classics” by Annalise Roberts)

Makes two 8 or 9 inch rounds or 24 cupcakes.  Recipe can be cut in half.

2 cups sugar

4 large eggs

2 1/2 cups Brown Rice Flour Mix*

1/2 tsp salt

1 Tbsp baking powder

1 tsp xanthan gum

1 cup canola oil

1 cup milk

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 tsp pure lemon extract

1 Tbsp grated lemon rind.

Lemon Curd Filling and Lemon Buttercream Frosting (recipes follow)

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Position rack in center of oven.  Line two round 9-inch layer cake pans with parchment or wax paper and spray lightly with cooking spray.
  • Beat sugar and eggs in large bowl of electric mixer at medium speed for 1 minute.  Add flour, salt, baking powder, xanthan gum, oil, milk, vanilla extract, lemon extract, and lemon rind; beat at medium speed for 1 minute.
  • Pour batter into prepared pans.  Place in center of oven and bake about 35 minutes (40 minutes for an 8-inch cake; 18-20 minutes for cupcakes) or until center springs back when touched and cake has pulled away fro sides of pan.
  • Cool cake layers in the pans on a rack for 5 minutes.  Use a small knife to cut around pan sides to loosen cake.  Invert cake layers onto a rack, peel off paper, and cool completely.
  • Carefully slice each layer in half horizontally to create four layers (this is more easily done when cake has been chilled).  Spread each of the two bottom layers with 1/2 of the lemon curd.  Cover each bottom layer with one of the two remaining top layers.
  • Place one set of filled layers on a cake plate and spread with about 1/2 cup frosting.  Place the other set of filled layers on top and cover top and sides of cake with remaining frosting.

Lemon Curd Filling

3 eggs yolks

1/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp sugar

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

1/4 cup unsalted butter, cut into 4 pieces

1/4 tsp guar gum

2 tsp grated lemon rind

1/4 tsp lemon extract

  • Combine egg yolks, sugar, and lemon juice in a small saucepan and whisk until well blended.
  • Cook over medium-low heat until smooth and so thick that curd coats the back of a wooden spoon (this should take 5-7 minutes).  Whisk in butter, one piece at a time, until completely incorporated.  Whisk in guar gum, lemon rind, and lemon extract.
  • Pour the curd into a small bowl and cover with wax paper or plastic wrap.  Chill until very cold.

Lemon Buttercream Frosting

1 cup unsalted butter

3 1/2 cups powdered sugar; divided

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

1/2 tsp lemon extract

2 tsp grated lemon rind

  • Beat butter in large bowl of electric mixer until light and fluffy.  Add 1 cup powdered sugar, lemon juice, lemon extract, and lemon rind; beat to blend.  Add remaining sugar and beat until creamy.

*Brown Rice Flour Mix

2 cups brown rice flour

2/3 cup potato starch

1/3 cup tapioca starch

What I love about this lemon birthday cake:  It’s mine. ♥  And it sparkles.

What I hate about this lemon birthday cake:  I couldn’t think of anything if I tried.

8 thoughts on “#30 Gluten Free Lemon Layer Cake

  1. Yahoo….you did it!! Happiest of Birthdays to you Annie Sue!! You get to be the topic of many of Robyn’s and my conversations! “You are just toooooo cute”… and admired with love!! God’s blessings to you today and the rest of those 30′s and 40′s and ……!! Marilyn

  2. A great way to sum up 30 days of baking with a cake just like you… beautiful inside and outside
    It doesn’t hurt that this was the best lemon cake of any type that I’ve ever had in my entire life. This is a must have recipe for anyone who may even think they could be gluten intolerant, although it may not look as pretty as this.
    Happy Birthday Annie Sue!!!

  3. A very happy belated birthday to you!! I have enjoyed your 30 days! Many wonderful blessings to you this coming year.

Leave a Reply

