I said yes…

Today is the anniversary of one of the best decisions I’ve ever made in my life.  I’d like to take all kinds of gloating, bragging, boasting credit for it, but I’m truly not that smart.  The truth is, Jesus knew what He was doing my first year of college way back in 1999 (yikes!), and I am ever so thankful for it.  If you haven’t read our love story, you can read all about it here, here, here, and here!

Weddings have changed so much since I planned my own.  They are so much more creative, art-inspired, do-it-yourself, and unique.  Since we married young, I’ve had plenty of opportunities to attend or be involved in several weddings since, and with each year that passes, and each wedding that I attend, I add to my ever-growing list of things I loved and things I didn’t love about my own wedding.  In honor of this special day, I thought I would share them here, with the hope that my lovely friends who are still single might find it useful.

What I loved about my wedding

  • My cake!–This only seems appropriate since I’m very much in love with the pastry business.  I unashamedly am convinced that I had the best tasting wedding cake ever made.  Made by my sweet friend, Kathy, she pulled out all the stops to provide the freshest cake imaginable.  Unlike most wedding cakes these days, that beautiful masterpiece didn’t see the inside of a freezer until the reception had ended and the topper was going in for the long one year stretch.  Each stack was baked with the kind of precision and care that you just don’t find very often anymore.  White with raspberry filling, chocolate with chocolate whipped mousse filling, and our personal favorite…coconut!  That topper came out of the freezer on September 7, 2003 and tasted like the day she pulled it out of her oven.  Heaven. ♥
  • My flowers–The beautiful arrangements were created from gorgeous flowers flown straight in from Hawaii!  They were stunningly breathtaking, and worth every last penny spent on them.
  • Our music–Frank, Dean, and Ella…you made the day magical!
  • The dress–There are dresses now that I see that nearly take my breath away.  I’m a much bigger fan of the styles now than those that were popular when I planned my big day.  That said, I adored my dress and still do.  It was simple, yet elegant, and made me feel like the prettiest girl in the whole wide world.  When I look at pictures from that day I’m still in love with that gown. 🙂

What I didn’t like about my wedding

  • Waiting to see Aaron until the wedding started–I realize that this sounds a bit harsh, but we both agreed afterward that while we were excited and happy and had ridiculous googly eyes for each other when I started walking down that aisle…there was no “firework” moment for us.  Part of that may just be our personalities.  But what made us really regret our decision was that we had to take all of our pictures together AFTER the ceremony, and WHILE our reception had already started.  All we wanted was to be in that room with all of our friends and family and loved ones, but instead we spent an hour taking pictures and hoping people didn’t leave before we made our appearance.  By the time we got there some had left, and those that hadn’t didn’t stay around for much longer.  The honest truth was that when it came down to it, that special moment can be created anywhere, and if I had it to do over again, we would have created that moment before the ceremony began, and then thoroughly partied it up with our friends afterwards!
  • Our photography–For the love of all things sentimental…spend money on the pictures!!  Despite finding one of the less expensive photographers in Bend, my parents still paid massive amounts of money for this.  The main goal was accomplished.  The day was commemorated with photographs.  They were boring, uncreative, dull, and full of minor things that the photographers should have caught before snapping the picture.  If I had it to do all over again, this is where I would have spent the bulk of my generous parent’s money.  Because years down the road you’ll want to have those pictures out and you’ll want to still love looking at them.  Since we don’t, we had our dear friend Cassie do a photo shoot with us at year seven.  They’re great and continue to grace our mantle today.
  • I didn’t spend enough time creating–Unlike most girls that dream and plan and collect ideas for their own weddings, I really had none.  I was working full time, going to school full time, and planning a wedding without my mom or sister nearby, which resulted in a “whatever is easiest” attitude.  I wish I had spent more time creating a day that would have reflected more of my personality and style.

Here’s what I loved most about my wedding day…

Not bad photography, a delayed reception, my lack of creativity, or a million other things going on in the world that September 7, 2002 could have wiped that smile from my face.  Nine years ago today I said yes. ♥

10 thoughts on “I said yes…

  1. Dover Julia says:

    Annie,
    Even though I don’t know you well, we were at your wedding. It was beautiful and when I think of lovely weddings, YOURS always comes to mind! Not overdone, but oh so sweet and full of love. Really just perfect!
    Happy Anniversary!
    Love,
    Julie Dover

  2. Sarah Young says:

    I was at your wedding and regardless of your likes and dislikes I remember crying like a baby being able to witness the love that you and Aaron had and still have for one another. Happy 9 year anniversary! I hope you guys are blessed beyond measure in love and happiness in the years to come!!

Leave a Reply

