The Best of 2011!

2011 has been a year mixed with new revelations, many moments of fun, times of working through sorrow, lots of surprises, and an overwhelming sense of peace through it all.  It’s crazy to think another year has flown by and we are about to enter into a brand new one!  A year with new possibilities, new experiences, new adventures, new trials, new failures, and new triumphs.  Knowing this, I can’t help but look back on this past year and pick out the best parts of it.  So without further ado…

The Best of 2011!

  • Texas BBQ–Aaron and I had the absolute joy of visiting my parents in Texas for the first time this year.  It was there that we discovered the pure deliciousness of Texas BBQ.  I swear sometimes I dream about it.
  • Family Dinners–this was established late in the year for us, but has become one of our most favorite parts of each week.  Monday nights mark “family dinners” with our lovely friends, Steph and Mekenzie.  It’s not just the food that we are sharing that makes these nights so meaningful.  It’s coming off of an overly busy work day, counting down the minutes, and knowing that at the end of the day we get to share our lives with some of our very best friends.  It’s become a sweet solace for each of us, sharing the ups and downs of life, having deep conversation, and knowing that at the core of life, it’s the friendships that are so good they feel like family that keep us all going.
  • Aaron was made Activities Director at Mt. View–what a complete and total blessing this has been been.  Aaron was made for this job, and he is enjoying every last minute of it.  We have been able to get to know one of the greatest groups of high school kids we’ve ever met, and feel honored to be able to share in their lives.
  • My sister flew out to surprise me for my 30th birthday!  I cried.
  • We have a new niece!–Little Scout was born October 11th, and is the sweetest little girl I know.  Isn’t she precious?

She looks exactly like my sister, is destined to be a deep thinker with her constant concerned looks, and loves to snuggle.  She’s a bug, and I love her. ♥

  • I found this blog.  I adore it.  Laura is a thoughtful and honest writer, and I so enjoy following her through life.  She has great insight, and has the same taste in reading material as I do.  The last several books I’ve read have been at her suggestion, and I have been forever grateful.  If you find yourself looking for some light, fun daily reading, I highly suggest this blog.
  • My best friend, Shauna, flew out to Colorado to help me throw my sister a baby shower.

We made a little side trip to Sterling for the afternoon.  I would have never thought that these two worlds would ever collide, but they did.  Shauna got the grand tour of the small town I used to call home.  Seeing where I used to cheer on the Sterling Tigers, where my childhood best friend got her first bee sting on the jungle gym, our tiny little movie theater, and so much more was seriously one of the more strange things I’ve experienced.  She now knows exactly where my roots are…and she still loves me. 🙂

  • Reading this book.  It quickly became one of the best things I’ve read in my life.  I read it during not only one of the hardest parts of this year, but definitely one of the most difficult times I’ve walked through in my life thus far.  It made me feel normal during a time where I was broken.  It gave me the perspective I desperately needed during a time where I felt hopelessly lost.  The author, Shauna Niequist, states, “Bittersweet is the idea that in all things there is both something broken and something beautiful, that there is a moment of lightness on even the darkest of nights, a shadow of hope in every heartbreak, and that rejoicing is no less rich even when it contains a splinter of sadness.” I believe Jesus knew that the words in this book would allow my heart to stay soft and as far from bitter as possible while I healed.  It worked.
  • The conclusion of Friday Night Lights.  I’m not sure I’ve ever loved a show quite like I loved and adored this one.  Which I realize sounds a bit shallow in itself, but stay with me for a minute.  These characters seep into your soul with such conviction, that sometimes I found myself wanting to pray for them as they walked through life’s trials.  Does this make me crazy?  Chelsea Bergman, I know you know what I’m talking about.  I felt like I knew the characters personally, and when the series finally came to an end I was sad to lose them.  Don’t judge me.
  • Finding out this great news!

Get ready 2012!  You have some big shoes to fill.

3 thoughts on “The Best of 2011!

Leave a Reply

