Pink Donuts and the First Snow

Snow!  It happened.  This past weekend Bend, Oregon received its first snow of the season and it was lovely.  I love it when snow coincides with the weekend, making it that much easier to stay inside and enjoy the warmth of a fire with my family, all while watching the pretty white flakes fall from the sky.

This was Ivy’s first snow, and while we didn’t venture out to play in it (she was working hard at getting over a BIG cold!), she was incredibly fascinated as she watched out the window.  As we all huddled in front of the fire that morning, it just seemed an appropriate day to make some donuts…as if I needed an excuse to make the delicious circles of yum.

I happened to have some strawberries left over from the student leadership retreat that desperately needed to be used, so I adapted my apple cider donuts to make strawberry donuts with a strawberry icing.  I substituted 1/2 cup of mashed strawberries for the apple cider, omitted the nutmeg, and decreased the cinnamon to 1/2 teaspoon. Instead of rolling them in cinnamon and sugar after they were out of the fryer, I let them sit on a paper towel to soak up some of that extra grease, and then used this delicious strawberry icing recipe to top them off, because the only thing better than a donut is a pink donut.  They were nothing short of divine!  I made a batch of gluten-free, and a batch of regular, because it wouldn’t be fair if I was left out. 😉

My beautiful, wonderful sister called me later that day to chat for awhile and suggested I make homemade donuts on the first snow of the season a new yearly tradition.  And since I love a good tradition as much as the next person, I agreed.  Now Ivy will look forward to the first snow of the year for more than just the opportunity to build a snowman!

Here’s to a snowy season!

3 thoughts on “Pink Donuts and the First Snow

Leave a Reply

