Dark Chocolate Sea Salted Toffee

If you missed my book review of Bread & Wine by Shauna Niequist, turn around and read it.  It’s an excellent book full of encouragement to share life around the table with those you love!

When I read the recipe for the Dark Chocolate Sea Salted Toffee I knew it would be one of the first ones I would try.  I’m a sucker for anything that melts butter and sugar and calls it good enough to eat!

IMG_2411

Don’t be fooled by how fancy this toffee looks.  Shauna’s recipe goes against all rules of candy-making by skipping the candy thermometer all together, making it super easy to make!  I’m a rule follower, and when it comes to candy-making I like to be very precise so it was a stretch for me to make this with only my visual instincts to tell me when it was done.  But it worked!  And it is every bit as delicious as it looks!

Make it.  Enjoy it.  Try not to eat it all in one sitting.

Dark Chocolate Sea Salted Toffee

Shauna Niequist, Bread & Wine

1 cup butter (2 sticks)

2 cups sugar

1 cup dark chocolate chips

1 tsp coarse sea salt

  • In a saucepan, combine butter and sugar, and bring to a boil.  Over medium-high heat, keep stirring until it turns a deep amber color.
  • Remove from heat and pour onto a rimmed baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Refrigerate at least 30 minutes, or until cool and solid to the touch.
  • Melt chocolate chips in a glass bowl over a pot of gently boiling water.  When the chocolate is smooth, pour it over the toffee and spread with a spatula.  Sprinkle sea salt, and then refrigerate until cooled and solid.  Break into irregular pieces.
9 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Sea Salted Toffee

  1. Kate Insley says:

    I know this is an older post, but I just read Bread and Wine and LOVED every bit of it! I have a friend borrowing the book so I am so excited to find this recipe here! But I did have a question: what size baking sheet did you use? Thanks so much! Look forward to reading more of your stuff 🙂

    • sweetannieskitchens says:

      I used a square 8 x 8 baking pan, however in retrospect the toffee seemed a bit thick. My only other option was a large rimmed baking sheet that I felt would have been way too big. I think if you have something in the middle that would be perfect. Maybe a 9 x 13? Thanks for reading!

  2. Lcush says:

    I recently attempted this recipe but the butter separated before it turned an amber color and the sugar was still very crystallized. What am I doing wrong?

    • sweetannieskitchens says:

      Oh this has totally happened to me too! I don’t claim to be an expert at candy by any means, but my understanding is that this happens when there is too abrupt of a temperature change. For instance, if it gets too hot too quick. Another reason this can happen is if the butter and sugar heat unevenly. Candy is finicky. You have to be patient, focused, and determined, for sure. All I can say is try again! If I posted about the number of times I’ve messed up candy, especially caramels, it would be lengthy. 😉 Good luck!

Leave a Reply

