I Choose Gratitude

Sometimes being thankful requires a conscious effort for me.  And I really loathe that part of myself.

On the other hand, it takes no effort whatsoever to go through my morning, day, week, month or year without as much as a fleeting thought in regards to the things I am blessed with.

Instead I spend my mornings paying bills and choose to be frustrated that they have once again monopolized our monthly income and left little to none to do any of the things we used to do when I was working.

Instead I spend the afternoon choosing to feel sorry for myself as I walk through Costco getting the groceries that I need, but not the extras that I want, because it’s just not in the budget.

I spend the evening with an edge of irritability instead of embracing the many blessings Jesus has so graciously given me.

I find myself embarrassed at the reality of my thoughts and am ever so thankful that November is here, as it reminds me of how much I truly have to be thankful for.

So today I am beyond thankful for my precious little polk-a-dot daughter. ♥  And I am thankful that I get to stay home and care for her and not miss a single precious moment as she learns and discovers new things each day.  And I am thankful that even though staying home with her means our income has decreased and life has inevitably changed, we are still able to pay our bills, enjoy dinner together every night, and live in a home that we love.  God is extravagantly good, even when I am not.

6 thoughts on “I Choose Gratitude

  1. Chera says:

    Love it, Annie! We’ve been living in that land for 11 years & I’ve been home for most of it. People will say, “Oh, you’re LUCKY you get to stay home” and it’s not always how I feel! We make a TON of sacrifices, and have said “no” to more things that I care to think about. But, with our youngest in pre-school, and our oldest in middle school this year, I wouldn’t trade one year at home for a newer car, better TV or more savings in the bank. Some days? Sure. There have been days that I wished I was working. Or that I felt guilty for not working. But, I’m thankful for a husband who values it like I do. Proud of you!

  2. traceywc29 says:

    Your daughter is adorable and reminds me of all the fun things I did with mine when she was little. We did a lot of playing with boxes and things that didn’t cost any money. I, too, was grateful to be home with her. Now that she is a senior in HS, I am a stay at home mom for the first time since she went to pre-school. I hear all that you are saying – thanks for reminding me to be grateful.

Leave a comment